Add confirmation to "clear and rescan"
"Rescan for new files" is something I often do after dropping files into the folder, "clear and rescan" is usually only necessary if something is really wrong. As the two options are very close a "really clear all data" option might prevent some data loss.
Have you done this accidentally yourself? I can't remember ever doing it accidentally...