42 votes

Removing folders after files move

completed Bruno Dupuy 20 supporters

When files are moved by file reorganisation, there are many empty folders everywhere. it become difficult to find which contains files or not.
maybe a folder whose every file have been moved could be deleted (and parent folder if nothing left in) ...

completed Dan Gravell responded ·

This is now complete: https://www.blisshq.com/music-library-management-blog/2017/09/07/release-20170829-official-synology/ with a more complete list of files/folders permitted for deletion. Please report re-occurrences of this with a debug archive.

16 comments

Dan Gravell

This should actually happen. Can you send me a debug archive? Click "Help" then "Download debug archive". And also say some example albums where the folder wasn't removed.

Fab Fab

Same issue for me on a Synology NAS.
Afre moving, old folders are never deleted :-/

Fab Fab

To make a clarification : I already tried to change user/group right on folder (set to 'bliss' user/group) but it doesn't change anything

Dan Gravell

Can you send a debug archive? http://www.blisshq.com/support/reporting-problems.html

Fab Fab

Yes, I will make a relevant example and I will send you the debug archive ASAP

Dan Gravell

Thanks, please do!

Fab Fab

So, after some tests, it seems to be a right problem.
If album folder's owner is bliss, the folder is moved.
If album folder's owner is my user, the "old" folder stay in place but it is empty.

In conclusion, I don't think you can do anything... it's a problem of system user configuration

Dan Gravell

Ah yes, in this case that will be a problem.

Fab Fab

Yes, but it's strange that Bliss can move files and not folders...

Fab Fab

Yes, but it's strange that Bliss can move files and not folders...

Dan Gravell

Oh yes, if the permissions are ok it should still move them... as before, please send a debug archive - http://www.blisshq.com/support/faq/general/how-create-debug-archive.html

Tyrone

further to this request, if a folder contains only a cover.jpg (or artwork file as per bliss config) it would be nice to have bliss delete the artwork and then the empty folder.

Dan Gravell

That's interesting; bliss should move image files into the target folder. If you get the chance, send me a debug archive - "Help" then "Download debug archive" and mention which folder/album this occurred with.

Dan Gravell

For the next release, a more complete list of files/folders permitted for deletion is included.

That includes desktop.ini files and @eaDir folders.

Please report re-occurrences of this (subsequent to the next version) with a debug archive.

Shaun Hill

I have the same problem, think this will be apparent in the debug archive you already have from me by email relating to a different matter.

Look at Fall Out Boy for example. What's worse is that I can't even delete the old folders in a different folder/file format structure created by bliss even though I am on an administrator account.

Dan Gravell

For permissions issues there's little that can be done. bliss can and should only be able to do whatever the user it-is-run-as can do. The permissions on the files need to be configured.