I suggest ...

Handle Deleted Albums More Elegantly

Bliss seems to remember that an album existed after it has been deleted - and therefore keep looking to determine whether it is compliant or not, even though there is no album to check.

It would be better if Bliss flagged that an album appeared to have vanished (you might want to know if this was by mistake!) but then gave you the option to acknowledge the change so that Bliss "forgets" the album and no longer looks for it.

Probably not spotted before because you don't often delete albums/music - but this happened during some testing of VortexBox/Bliss when I was just using some sample albums to check functionality - and then changed the albums I was using.

38 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    I agree to the terms of service
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Steve Parry shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    8 comments

    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Yes, I've had the same problem. I deleted a whole bunch of albums which Bliss still tries to evaluate.

      • Stephen commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        I have got an album listed that does not exist now, but bliss still shows it, marking it as non compliant, with no details except the artist name and album name, but not folders or files. How can I get rid of this from the bliss database.

      • AdminDan Gravell (Founder and programmer, bliss) commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        I've also seen this with OS X when a NAS drive hosts the music files. OS X provides something called fsevents to handle file system notifications. bliss taps into this and so when a folder is removed it can remove the relevant album.

        The trouble is that fsevents does not appear to work for network mounted volumes... certainly not a Samba volume I tested it with anyway (and I've had similar reports from others). "Clear and rescan" is the only option there.

      • AdminDan Gravell (Founder and programmer, bliss) commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        @Bert Orphaned albums shouldn't happen anymore since the latest release. However, once they are orphaned you can't remove them, as noted.

        There are two workarounds. The easiest for VB owners is to upgrade to the latest version, which clears the data and starts over. The other way is to stop bliss, remove the data by removing the /root/.bliss/data directory and then restarting bliss.

        Regarding the cover art, please vote for: http://ideas.blisshq.com/forums/21939-bliss/suggestions/2163167-filter-albums-by-compliance-type-e-g-all-albums-w

      • Bert Norton commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Thanks for the comment Dan, I was going to suggest the option to clear the library (where is this stored). I too use a Vortexbox appliance to rip my CDs and then use mp3tag to check the tags and finally bliss to check the artwork.
        I frequently rename the artist or album folders from what Vortexbox created and end up with orphaned albums.
        Also would like to find albums that have the default "no album art" space house picture instead of having to browse thousands of albums.
        Also list artists by selected first letter like albums.

      • AdminDan Gravell (Founder and programmer, bliss) commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Yeah, this has been the case since bliss introduced persisted libraries between restarts.

        If the album is removed while bliss is running, it should be deleted, although there was another bug preventing this. A fix for this is in the next release.

        Furthermore, when a new version of bliss is installed bliss performs a complete clear and rescan, so this is another workaround.

        But overall yes, a 'deleted' marker and a 'forget' option would be useful.

      Feedback and Knowledge Base